It Was All A Dream…

Just watched “Inception” last night, and I must admit that I’m still not sure what to make of it all.  The visuals were absolutely stunning, in true Christopher Nolan form, and I doubt many others would argue about that.  But what both drew me to the theater and ruined the film for me, ironically, was all the hype surrounding it.  Everyone I knew on Facebook and Twitter couldn’t stop ranting and raving about “Inception.”  They all had theories and remarks about how they’ll never sleep and dream the same ever again.  With comments like that, how could I not over-analyze every detail while watching the movie?! 

By the time “Inception” ended 2.5hours later, I was exhausted from trying to follow every red herring thrown at the audience and still just as confused.  Like my favorite movie, “The Matrix,” “Inception” seems to warrant multiple views to fully understand what’s going on in the film and to realize the symbolic details Nolan sprinkles in.  For example, I just found out that Ellen Page’s character, Ariadne, has the same name as the mythological creature that helps Theseus out of the Minotaur’s labyrinth.  I’m a sucker for details like that and will definitely have to watch this movie again to discover the rest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

