Don’t Let The Bed Bugs Bite

My sleep cycle is horrendous.  These past few weeks, I can’t seem to fall asleep until it’s at least 4:00am.  Doesn’t matter what time I start my day.  Doesn’t matter if I nap or don’t nap.

I. CAN’T. SLEEP.

And now, even if I miraculously feel tired around 3:00am, I feel bad going to bed because my mom wakes up for work at 4:30am and likes it when I get the coffee started for her.  1.5 more hours of sleep OR help the person that gave birth to me.  On her birthday, might I add.  I think it’s the very least I can do. 

There are some benefits to my recent insomnia though.  For one thing, the infomercials on late-night television are definitely entertaining (and more convincing in the twilight hours…I already want an Oreck Air Purifier and a Brazil Butt Workout DVD).  Plus, I’ve discovered some odd shows, diamonds in the rough if you will, like “Confessions: Animal Hoarding” on Animal Planet and “Hoarding: Buried Alive” on TLC (I guess hoarding is the new have-a-litter-of-children as your reality-show claim to fame?).  But the best perk of my sleeplessness by far is how super-productive I’ve been when it comes to my job hunt.  I need peace and quiet to look for openings, research companies, write cover letters, etc. and I realized that’s never going to happen while my family is awake, so the nocturnal life has become the life for me.  My contacts don’t seem to mind getting e-mails at 5:00am so it’s a win-win situation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Consumer Goods, Job Hunt, Things I Want

Leave a Reply

